Harrisburg Strong Task Force Announces Meeting Schedule

The Harrisburg Strong Task Force will hold the first of two public outreach input sessions on Thursday, May 29, 2014 at the Greater Harrisburg Area YWCA, 1100 Market Street (Highmark Room – 2nd Floor), Harrisburg from 6 p.m. – 8 p.m.

Any Harrisburg resident, neighborhood group, investment group, concerned citizen, community development not for profit, private sector developers, faith-based organizations and the public in general.

Strengthening Harrisburg’s financial standing and addressing its critical infrastructure needs is crucial to the City’s sustainability and to best position the City for an economically sound future.

Similarly, in order for the City to provide necessary and vital services to its residents and to those who are employed in or visit the City, there is a critical need to invest in the rehabilitation of the City’s infrastructure.

The Harrisburg Strong Plan provided for the Harrisburg Task Force for Infrastructure and Economic Development, charged with the development of a Governance Structure and Action Plan that would guide the work of a non-profit corporation that will address these vital issues. The Strong Plan set aside a portion of the funds from the parking monetization to provide seed funding that can be used as match for other funding sources to initiate certain priority infrastructure, and economic and community development initiatives.

The Task Force will hold two public meetings to receive comments and input on issues related to the Governance and Action Plan. The meetings will provide attendees with an overview of the work of the Task Force, their preliminary recommendations and a timeline for their implementation. Parking is available at the YWCA.

A second public meeting will be held at 6 p.m. on Thursday, June 19, 2014 at the YWCA Greater Harrisburg.

Media Contacts:
City of Harrisburg: Joyce Davis, 717-255-3040; jdavis@cityofhbg.com,
Dauphin County: Amy Richards, 717-780-6311; arichards@dauphinc.org or
Department of Community & Economic Development: Steve Kratz, 717 720-1367; stkratz@pa.gov.

Editor’s Note: Below is a list of the Harrisburg Task Force for Infrastructure and Economic Development Members:
Mr. Doug Hill, Co-Chair
Mr. Les Ford, Co-Chair
Ms. Laura Cullison, Vice-Chair
Mr. Dave Black
Mr. Neil Grover
Ms. Jackie Parker
Mr. Karl Singleton
Ms. Pat Stringer
Ms. Shannon Williams
Ms. Anne Morrow, Recording Secretary

Leave a reply