(HARRISBURG) – A Harrisburg City Council swearing-in ceremony took place on Tuesday, as Council returned to session for the first time in 2024 with two new members and a returning familiar face.

President Danielle Bowers took the oath of office for her second term on City Council, at a ceremony held Tuesday at the Martin Luther King Jr. City Government Center. Ms. Bowers was the leading vote-getter among City Council candidates in November’s general election.

She was joined by new councilors Crystal Davis and Lamont Jones. Mr. Jones was previously sworn in to his City Council position at a separate ceremony held Friday, December 29 at the Dauphin County Courthouse.

Mses. Bowers and Davis took the oath of office from Dauphin County Magisterial Judge, the Honorable Hanif Johnson.

Tuesday’s ceremony began with remarks from Harrisburg Mayor Wanda R.D. Williams, who previously served on City Council for 16 years, including a dozen years as its President.

“Being a representative of the people is one of the most significant and earnest tasks someone can take on in their lifetime. This may be a part-time job, but make no mistake: this is a full-time responsibility,” Mayor Williams said to the assembled crowd of more than 100 guests. “If you are here to chase clout, check your ego at the door. If you are here to make a difference, you’ve come to the right place, and I look forward to working with you each step of the way.”

Following Mayor Williams’ opening remarks, an invocation was made by Pastor Jameson McLaughlin-Goodwin of the Memorial Baptist Church, and a musical selection was sang by Airis Smallwood.

Pastor W. Ouemonde Brangman of the Bethel AME Church provided a benediction following the swearing-in procedures.

Harrisburg City Council consists of, in alphabetical order, the Hon. Danielle Bowers, Shamaine Daniels, Crystal Davis, Ausha Green, Lamont Jones, Jocelyn Rawls, and Ralph Rodriguez.

At a reorganizational meeting which followed the ceremony, Councilwoman Bowers was re-elected as Council President, and Councilwoman Green was re-elected Vice President.